Waiting on Wednesday: King’s Cage

WoW4_edited-3

Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, is a weekly meme that showcases upcoming book releases that readers are eagerly awaiting.

91519King’s Cage

Victoria Aveyard

Publication Date: February 2, 2017

Extent: 448 pages

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

Why Am I Waiting?

I haven’t read Glass Sword yet (yes, I know I need to! And this WoW is yet another I-haven’t-read-the-sequel-yet-BUT post), but I’m still counting down the days to King’s Cage. We have only 161 days to wait. The Red Queen surprised me. I didn’t know I would like it so much. Scratch that. I love it. Supernatural beings controlling humans? You had me at the word “controlling.” (I’m not sure if you should worry about that sentence…) And how can I say no to reading a beautifully designed book? With the first book, I couldn’t put it down, and I went through a tough reading slump afterwards.

With King’s Cage, I want to see how Victoria takes this captivating series and also want to see how far her characters will push themselves. And I’m not sure if I want to kill Maven or not. I’m still debating.

And no, I have yet to read this book’s blurb! I don’t want to be spoiled. The things I do to myself for this blog. 😑

Leave a Reply

