Waiting on Wednesday: A Darkness Absolute

WoW4_edited-3

Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, is a weekly meme that showcases upcoming book releases that readers are eagerly awaiting.

31338270.jpgA Darkness Absolute

Kelley Armstrong

Publication Date: February 7, 2017

Extent: 416 pages

It’s winter in Rockton, a little town hidden deep in the wilds of the Yukon. The town exists for people who need to escape their pasts, though it’s not clear if those in hiding are victims or perpetrators. Or, when the lines gets blurred, maybe both. Ask Casey. She’s been used, betrayed, beaten. But she’s also killed someone. She moved to Rockton to help her best friend, Diana. Ex-best friend. Diana lied to get Casey to come with her; she used her and she almost got her killed. But Casey decided to stay anyway, to work as a detective alongside her new boyfriend and the town’s sheriff, Eric Dalton. Fresh off solving a series of grisly murders, Casey and Deputy Will Anders get stranded in a blizzard while they’re tracking a runner from the town. Seeking shelter in a cave, they stumble across a woman who’s been imprisoned in a deep well. Nicole Chavez–whom everybody thought had run away from town and died in the woods more than a year earlier–is alive. Barely. But she can’t identify her captor: she’s never seen his face.
Was she taken by one of the hostiles who inhabit the wilderness around the town? Or is Casey facing something even worse? In a town where everyone lies about their past and lives under assumed identities, it’s very easy to hide your true nature.

Goodreads | Indigo | Amazon CAN | Amazon US | Book Depository

Why Am I Waiting?

It’s a Kelley Armstrong book. I think that reason alone is a good excuse. So yes, I haven’t read the first book (why do I do this to myself?!). But I’ve had a huge mystery and thriller hangover since I’ve read Kelley’s Nadia Stafford series. And Danya @ Fine Print convinced me, once again, to put this book on my TBR list. So City of the Lost is definitely on my Christmas list. And with all the books being published, February may just kill my bank account. I swear publishers are in cahoots!

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: A Darkness Absolute

  1. I think I’ve only read one Kelly Armstrong – my memory could be duping me though – Bitten?? And I think I also have three other books on my shelves. I should go and find them and run them all by you – you could tell me where to start!
    Nice pick.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! The Kelley extraordinaire at your service. 😊 I’m a walking encyclopedia of work work, so ask away! 😅

      I think you’d like the Cainsville series. It has no connections to her main series, Women of the Otherworld, so it holds its own and is fantastic for someone who’s getting in to her books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

