Mini Reviews: Adulthood Is a Myth and Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Andersen

Adulthood Is a Myth by Sarah Andersen

Published by: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Publication Date: March 8, 2016

Genre: Comic Strip, Adult, Humour

Page Count: 109

Rating: 4/5

Source: Friend’s stash of books

Goodreads | Indigo | Amazon CAN | Amazon US | Book Depository


Are you a special snowflake? Do you enjoy networking to advance your career? Is adulthood an exciting new challenge for which you feel fully prepared? Ugh. Please go away.

This book is for the rest of us. These comics document the wasting of entire beautiful weekends on the internet, the unbearable agony of holding hands on the street with a gorgeous guy, dreaming all day of getting home and back into pajamas, and wondering when, exactly, this adulthood thing begins. In other words, the horrors and awkwardnesses of young modern life.


Okay, I admit I don’t read many comic books or strips. But I’ve been a fan of Sarah’s work for years, well before she published her first book. Thankfully my friend bought both her books, and within an hour I blew through them.

Even though the strips are simplistic, I love how Sarah captures what people think, how they feel, and how they are all the same, regardless of what they believe. She takes you on an unbelievably hilarious adventure of a girl’s journey through life.

I can’t count how times I giggled while reading this book. And I haven’t devoured a comic book so quickly in a long while. Sarah takes these complicated adult problems all readers face daily or fear, and she turns them into some sort of therapeutic release for her followers. I relate to her characters, feelings, fears, and thoughts on every day things. From sniffing books to commandeering men’s hoodies, she makes her readers relate to each other so that they can realize we aren’t so different.

I will always look for more of Sarah’s work. She speaks to my inner introvert and bookworm (dragon tyvm). I think my only negative of the book is that it’s too short. Besides that issue, I love her strips. And I’ll eagerly await more of her illustrations.

 


Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Andersen

Published by: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Publication Date: March 7, 2017

Genre: Comic Strip, Adult, Humour

Page Count: 128

Rating: 4/5

Source: Friend’s stash of books

Goodreads | Indigo | Amazon CAN | Amazon US | Book Depository


Sarah Andersen’s hugely popular, world-famous Sarah’s Scribbles comics are for those of us who boast bookstore-ready bodies and Netflix-ready hair, who are always down for all-night reading-in-bed parties and extremely exclusive after-hour one-person music festivals.

In addition to the most recent Sarah’s Scribbles fan favorites and dozens of all-new comics, this volume contains illustrated personal essays on Sarah’s real-life experiences with anxiety, career, relationships and other adulthood challenges that will remind readers of Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. The same uniquely frank, real, yet humorous and uplifting tone that makes Sarah’s Scribbles so relatable blooms beautifully in this new longer form.


Sarah is my spirit animal or my queen; I’m not sure which one, though. The anti-social, hate-filled woman in me squeals when I find “my people,” as in my fellow introverts. Sarah touches on bullying, self image, relationships, female problems, procrastination, and social awkwardness. While I like the first comic strip book, I feel that Sarah connects this sequel in a better cohesive way.

What I would give to sit down and talk with her about life. You get a better understanding of who she is and what issues make her uncomfortable. She addresses many social problems she battles with. And all I see is a reenactment of my life. How can I identify with a woman I haven’t met sometimes astounds me. But somehow I do, and while looking through Goodreads, I’ve realized many other readers feel the same.

 

She’s not afraid to discuss social anxiety. She combines her humour with her anxiety and turns the latter into a platform for her to talk with other people who suffer from it. So I respect her for pulling off that accomplishment. Big Mushy Happy Lump is a light and airy read that hooks you from the first strip. I can’t wait to see what Sarah has to offer next.

2 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Adulthood Is a Myth and Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Andersen

  1. I love comics and comic strips, but I’ve never actually read anything by Sarah Andersen. I’ve seen some of her viral strips though and they’re so clever! Clearly I need to pick up her full-length work, because it sounds awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

